The eight stages of yoga | Patanjali yoga sutras Hatha yoga and Raja yoga | - SPritual yoga


Spritual yoga is a blog for sharing knowledge about how to maintain health, fitness, and beauty by the help of yoga ayurveda and homemade remedies. We also write about different poses (yoga asanas) of yoga and there steps, techniques, Benefits and precautions. We also write on enhancing of spiritual knowledge.


Friday, 5 July 2019

The eight stages of yoga | Patanjali yoga sutras Hatha yoga and Raja yoga |

The stages of yoga 

Hatha yoga, Raja yoga, patanjali yoga sutra, the eight stages limbs of yoga

The right means are just as important as the end in view. Patanjali enumerates these means as the eight limbs or stages of yoga for the quest of the soul. They are.

1. Yama (universal moral comandments).

2. Niyama (self purification by discipline),

3. Asana ( posture),

4. Pranayama (rhythmic control of the breath),

5. Pratyahara (withdrawal and emancipation of the mind from the domination of the senses and exterior objects).

6. Dharana (concentration).

7. Dhyana (meditation),

8. Samadhi ( a state of super-consciousness brought about by profound meditation, in which the individual aspirant becomes one with the object of his meditation- paramatma or the universal spirit).

Yama and Niyama control the yogi's passion and emotions and keep him in harmony with his fellow man. Asanas keep the body healthy  and strong and in harmony with nature. Finally, the  yogi becomes free of body consciousness. He conquers the body and renders it a fit vehicle for the soul. The first three stages are the outward quests.

The next two stages, pranayama and pratyahara, teach the aspirant to regular the breathing and thereby control the mind. This helps to free the senses from the thraldom of the objects of desire. These two stages of yoga  are known as the inner quest.

Dharana, dhyana and samadhi take the yogi into the innermost recesses of his soul. The yogi does not look heavenward to find God. He knows that he is within, being known as the Antaratma (the inner self). The last three stages keep him in harmony with himself and his maker. These stages are called antaratma sadhana, the quest of the soul.

By profound meditation, the knower, the knowledge and the known becomes one. The seer, the sight and the seen have no separate existence from each other. It is like a great musician becoming one with his instrument and the music that comes from it. Then, the Yogi stand in his own nature and realise his self( Atman), the part of the supreme soul within himself.

There are different path by which a man travel to his maker. The active man finds realisation through karma marga, in which a man realizes his own divinity through work and duty. The emotional man finds it through bhakti marga, where there is realisation through devotion to and love of a personal God. The intellectual man pursues jnana, marga, where realisation comes through knowledge. The meditative or reflective man follows yoga, Marga, and realise his own divinity through control of the mind.

Happy is the man who knows how to distinguish the real from the unreal, the eternal from the transient and the good from the pleasant by his discrimination and wisdom. Twice blessed is he who knows true love and can love all God's creatures. He who works selflessly for the welfare of the others with love in his heart thrice blessed. But the man who combines within his mortal frame knowledge, love and self less service is holy and becomes a place of pilgrimage, like the confluence of the revers ganga, saraswati and jamuna. Those who meat him become calm and purified.

Mind is the king of the senses. One who has conquered his mind, senses passions, through and reason is a king among men. He is fit for Raja yoga, the royal union with the universal spirit. He has inner light.

He who has conquered his mind is Raja yogi. The word Raja means a king. The expression raja yoga implies a complete mastery of the self. Through patanjali explains the ways to control the mind, he nowhere states in his aphorisms that this science is Raja yoga, but calls it Astanga yoga or the eight stages (limbs) of yoga. As it implies complete mastery of the self one may call it the science of Raja yoga.

Swaztmarama, the author of the Hatha yoga pradipika (hatha= force or determined effort) called the same path Hatha yoga because it demanded rigorous discipline.

It is generally believe that Raja yoga and Hatha yoga are entirely distinct, different and opposed to each other, that the yoga sutras of patanjali deal with spiritual discipline and that the Hatha yoga pradipika of swaztmarama deal solely with physical discipline. It is not so, for Hatha yoga and Raja yoga complement each other and from a single approach towards Liberation. As a mountaineer needs ladders, ropes and crampons as well as physical fitness and discipline to climb the icy peak of the Himalayas, so does the yoga aspirant need the knowledge and discipline of the Hatha yoga of swaztmarama to reach the hight of Raja yoga dealt with by patanjali.

This path of yoga is the fountain for the other three paths. It brings calmness and tranquility and prepares the mind for absolute unqualified self surrender to God, in which all these four paths merge into one.

Sorce - the illustrated light on yoga

No comments:

Post a comment